Khayembii communique + Die! emperor Die!

So I think its pretty fair to say that I’m a sucker for most screamy musics that proudly wear their nostalgic bleeding hearts on their sleeves. Two prime examples of bands that really do this emo/screamo thing so well are the Khayembii Communique and Die! emperor Die!.

I discovered the Khayembii Communique self titled 7″ while djing at my college radio station. At the time I was listening to lots of decent to mediocre indie rock and just starting to acclimate myself with the ways of diy and punk rock (yupp, im a late bloomer, not counting my middleschool love affair with anti flag and bouncing souls, both of whom i still love to this day, when i find the song “kid” by bouncing souls ima hookitup) i managed to somehow find that 7″ in the disarray that is the rh coffins. There is no real story to it. I sat there, listened, and leafed through the insert. After listening to the Aside esp “AM 1200″ I knew I had discovered something special. This was the record and song that really changed music punk rock for me, and in that silly but deep kind of way flipped a bunch of switches somewhere inside me, spawned one of those personal and musical paradigm shifts that people go through, and all that. So here, may you will likes too.

I’m also now wanting to say something about mid western hardcore. but i know nothing about that. just that khayembii commuique were from minnesota (me thinks), and Spirit of versailles were from Sioux Falls South Dakota, and i still find this fact kind of romantic as only an emo psuedo city escapist kid could.

Also sometime ago, i emailed one of the dudes in this band to see if by any chance they had some secret stash of 7” that i could buy off of them. He didn’t have it but he did provide me with some mp3s and he was really cool about it. Thanks mark!

now i share: http://www.mediafire.com/?lwkpyijxdz4

In the same vein, i recently (re)discovered die! emperor die!. I like them pretty much for the same reasons. Pure unbridled emotion expressed with pretty pretty melodies and screaming. I also likes that they are a two piece. I don’t have the mp3, but if you look around on the webby or myspace, they do a sweet cover of the Rites of Spring’s “for want of”. Don’t let the length of this post fool you, this band is totally worth listening to and every bit as touching if not moreso than every band on this blog 🙂

here! http://www.mediafire.com/?y1kmndnb3yu

also sorry, my webby skills are kinda lacking so no pics or anything like shirleys post 😛

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    MNPunk said,

    Linked up over at MNPunk.com

  2. 2

    […] in the scene, and I was never much of an emo fan, so I really don’t know much about them.  This guy seems to […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment